CALL Lesson 9 (May 7-8)

Today we are going to continue working with maps. We will look at a table that I created with information on where our teacher-friends are and complete it. Then we will create a map, locate the teachers in their countries and leave a message in the map for each one. This way you will really see how different the times are in different parts of the world where our friends live and work.

This task includes the group of teachers that left comments in the Easter post and in the post about my presentation about our two blogs at the Microsoft Conference. Both these posts are in the "Have Fun with English! 2" blog.

You will work with a table in one window and a Google map in another window. That's where you will locate each city and country, and write a simple message.

Once again, it will be a multidisciplinary lesson: Geography, (simple) Math, the Internet and… English!

 

Objectives

Students will:

— state the current time in other countries

— calculate the difference in number of hours between Portugal and other countries

— create a Google map

— locate each city and country on the map

— write a message in the placemarker.

 

Activities

1. complete information in the table: columns for "time there" and "hours differ. re: Portugal" (remember that we are in GMT +1)

2. create a Google map

3. locate on the map the country and city where each teacher lives

4. placemark it

5. write a message.

At the end of this lesson students should have a good overview of the distance between different locations in the world and the differences in time they represent in relationship to Portugal.

Enjoy the lesson!  

 

Resources (= Recursos)

— Table created by the teacher

— Google Maps

 

Help

How to create a Google map

— go to Google maps

— click the "My Maps" tab

— click "Create new map"

— give it a name and click "Unlisted" (= private)

How to locate a city and leave a placemarker

— write the name of the city and state/country in the "Search Maps" slot and press Enter

— click on the blue placemarker (second icon, top left of the map), drag it (= arrasta-o) to the location and click (for it to stay in place)

— write the message and click Ok

— click on the blue placemarker to see the message

 

Tables

 

Table for 6.C

 
Name City Country/State Time zone Time there Hours differ. re: Portugal
Aiden Yeh Kaohsiung Taiwan GMT +8

16:30

+7 

Hala Fawzi Khartoum Sudan GMT +3

11:40

+2 

Cristina Costa Manchester England GMT +1

9:48

none

Carla Arena Key West Florida (USA) GMT -4

4:55

-5 

Dennis Oliver Phoenix Arizona (USA) GMT -7

1:58

-8 

 

 

Here is 6.C's map created in class.

 

 

 

Table for 6.E

 

Name City Country/State Time zone Time there Hours differ. re: Portugal
Sasha Sirk Nova Gorica Slovenia GMT +3

11:18

+2 

Nina Lyulkun Kiev Ukraine GMT +2

10:33

+1 

Ramona Dietrich Carcavelos Portugal GMT +1

9.37

none

Conceição Brito Setúbal Portugal GMT +1

9:37

none

Mônica Veado Belo Horizonte Brazil GMT -3

5:45

-4 

Nelba Quintana La Plata Argentina GMT -3

5:45

-4

Berta Leiva Toronto Canada GMT -4

4:50

-5 

Jane Petring Quebec Canada GMT -4

4:50

-5 

Angeles Berman Cd del Carmen Yucatan, Mexico GMT -5

3:55

-6

Cora Chen San Francisco California (USA) GMT -7

1:58

-8

 

VIP: The kids worked very well and quite fast, but I had to help them finish four entries: Conceição, Nelba, Jane and Angeles. It was a demanding plan even for 50 minutes.

 

Here's 6.E's map created in class.

 

 

* * * * * * * *

 

Follow-up

1. Nina Lyulkun, one of our teacher-friends, left a message with a link to a very interesting map that she created. It's a possible route by land for us to visit her in Kiev, the capital of the Ukraine. Take a look at her map!

2. Sasha Sirk, our teacher-friend in Nova Gorica, Slovenia, left a message with a very interesting video about bears (= ursos) in her country made by Matej, one of her students. Watch the video! And… enjoy it! 

 

* * * * * * * *

 

Report on CALL Lesson 9

The lesson with 6.C went as planned. They read the whole plan carefully out loud (one student at a time for each paragraph or part) and some translated what others didn't understand. There was curiousity about what the plan would really turn out to be, that is, what they would really be doing. They were eager to participate and volunteered enthusiastically to go to the computer and carry out the plan. Margarida, InêsT., Luis, InêsF and Rodrigo were the volunteers this time.

We started out by completing the table with the necessary info (last two columns). To save class time for the map, I wrote down the information they gathered and inserted it online at home. First we revised the concept of GMT. Then I asked in which time zone we were (GMT +1), how many hours separated us from each person and what time it was in their country. Several students quickly grasped that they have to subtract "1" when people are in a "+ / plus" GMT to find out the number of hours difference between us, and that they have to add "1" when people are in a "- / minus" GMT. They created the map easily and immediately grasped how to search for the city and country, get the placemarker in place and write the message. Once again to save class time, they copy-pasted the first message and then just replaced the necessary information.

The bell was ringing when we finished the five entries, but they had time to see the distances between the first person in the table and the last person, as well as notice the number of hours that separate them.

We used my laptop, a school video projector and a cable connection. The lesson was 45 mins. long, but an extra ten minutes would have come in handy.

As to 6.E, I had to add the 10 mins. since I added 5 entries to their table, because I decided not to have 6.D do this lesson. Everything went according to plan, although they weren't able to finish all the entries. It was just too demanding. I completed them at home.

They were also curious and eager to participate, but maybe a bit less enthusiastic than 6.C, and also grasped all the necessary concepts to complete the two columns in their table and carry on with the map.

The volunteers at the computer were Fábia, Rafael, Patrícia, Martim, Catarina and Francisco.

27 thoughts on “

  1. Olá, “Radical Teacher” and students.

    This is a fascinating CALL lesson. It should be very interesting for each class, and it should provide the students (and readers of this blog, when the lessons are finished) with some very valuable and useful information. The lesson will also be useful in helping students apply knowledge and skills they already have or are learning (for example, in geography, math, the Internet, and English), and it can help help students become more aware of local considerations in global communication. Finally, this lesson should provide plenty of opportunities to work productively as a group and then to share information with other groups.

    I look forward to seeing the results!

    Best wishes from Dennis in Phoenix.

  2. Hi Radical Teacher English students. 😉
    What a great idea to create maps about our whereabouts. I hope you are learning a lot. I know you are!How could you not? 😉
    You definitely make England feel very close to Portugal.
    My heart is now flying to Parede with a kiss to each one of you.
    If I could, I would teleport me to where you are, but since I can’t I will simply send you a big hug from Manchester.
    (Yes, that is the city where Cristiano Ronaldo plays soccer.)
    Hopefully we will meet f2f on of these days.

    Beijinhos
    Cristina Costa

  3. Hi teacher!

    I loved this lesson! Do you remember the running against time at the end of the class??? Wow!! When I clicked Ok the bell ringed!!!!!

    Well, see you tomorrow!

    Rodrigo, 6ºC

  4. Hi 6.C smart students,
    You keep on surprising me by the great work you can do! Wonderful work and you have done great by finishing it in one CALL lesson.
    Your “radical” teacher is so proud of you.She should be!
    I wish you a bright future with a shining CALL lesson every week!
    Salam from Sudan

  5. Dear radical teacher and 6E kids,
    What a wonderful surprise to see me in your map!!! Thank you so much.
    Yes, you were right. I was sleeping here in Toronto while you were having fun in your English class.
    Right now it is 2 p.m. so it is 7 p.m. in Portugal and I am sure you are getting ready to have dinner.
    It is finally beautiful and cool in Toronto. Spring has finally started and everything is coming back to life: trees, their flowers, birds singing and lots of happy people in the streets in summer clothes (it is still a bit chilly for me).
    Hugs and kisses from a Venezuelan in Canada,
    Berta

  6. Dear not-so-crazy and radical teacher and very-intelligent- students:

    This is wonderful. I think you had a lot of fun learning about hours and where in the world friends are!

    Now, It’s 3:39 p.m. here in Cd. del Carmen and it’s HOT (approx. 42 grades centigrades). Cd. del Carmen is a small island so I understand why it’s so difficult to find 🙂

    Hugs and thanks for including me in your map 😉

    Teresa!!! where in the world do you find these amazing ideas? WoooWW, you’re excellent and inspire me. Thank you 🙂

    hugs and kisses for everyone in the class

    angelesb from Mèxico (AJUAAAAAAAAAAAA)

  7. Oí, “Radical Teacher” and students in 6C.

    What a wonderful job you’ve done with this CALL lesson!

    When I went to your map and clicked on my name, I saw this message:

    “Hi, Dennis!

    It’s 9:58a.m. in Portugal and it’s 1:58a.m in Phoenix, Arizona.

    How are you? Are you sleeping? What are you dreaming?

    We are having a CALL lesson with our ”crazy and radical” English teacher.

    Kisses and hugs from 6C”

    – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

    Here are my responses:

    1. I’m fine. Thanks for asking!

    2. Yes, I was sleeping when you sent the message (at 9:58 AM in Portugal and 1:58 AM in Phoenix). I don’t remember what I was dreaming. Maybe I was dreaming of taking a trip to Parede!

    3. I’m sure your CALL lesson was a good one. I know that you’re an outstanding class and that you have an outstanding teacher!

    I send you beijinhos e abraços, too!

    Dennis in Phoenix

  8. Dear Teresa and 6E kids!

    I can realize how smart you are teaching and learning all together using this wonderful tool of the Internet.

    Thank you very much for adding me to your world map. I really feel very proud. My small country is only one hour ahead of yours. There is not very long distance between our areas – only 1 day and 19 hours by car. Take a look at this map http://luckyones.pbwiki.com/f/map%2Cjpg.jpg and you will know the way you might take while driving to Ukraine.

    Thank you very much again for the invitation and enjoy your wonderful classes with your fabulous TEACHER!!!

    {{{{{BIG HUG}}}}}
    Nina Lyulkun from Ukraine

  9. Dear Teresa,
    You have really creative and innovative ideas! Congratulations!
    It seems that your CALL lessons include lots of communicative activities as well, Teresa! It’s also great to see that you have written reports on your lessons as well as the lesson plans and share them with the other teachers around, which helps collaborative and reflective professional development. These days I have been especially thinking about how effective and motivating it would be for their professional development when teachers use blogs as reflective journals and/or create collaborative journal-blogs with other teachers on the web, like you did.

    and Teresa’s wonderful and super-intelligent students!
    You have created great maps! Congratulations to each of you! You are going to be computer experts one day, that’s for sure! 🙂

    Derya from Istanbul, Turkey

  10. Dear Dennis, Cristina, Hala, Berta, Angeles, Nina/Nagora and Derya,
    What lovely messages and such great enthusiasm for my students’ work! Thank you! 🙂
    Belonging to such a warm, collaborative and caring community inspires us, together with the help of great tools such as Google maps.
    Dennis, I’m so glad that you answered all their questions. I hope that your trip to Paredebecomes reality! 🙂
    Nina, thanks for your map. What a fabulous idea! It hadn’t crossed my mind. I’ve included it in the “follow-up” section to our lesson as an example of how these maps can be used. I hope my students come up with other ideas.
    Beijinhos all, Teresa

  11. Dear Rodrigo and Margarida,
    This was certainly an interesting lesson, because it makes us visualize great geographical distances, think about differences in time between us, some quite big, and even imagine what people may be doing.
    And then, when we think a little more about it, we come to a fabulous conclusion. We are all very close, because we are all “just a click away” through the Internet. Isn’t that fabulous?
    I’m very glad that you’re all taking advantage (= tirar partido) of these communication technologies in these CALL lessons.
    Rodrigo, that “race against time” at the end of class was fantastic. The bell rang at the right moment. On second thoughts (= pensando melhor), you worked really well and fast to have that last message done just in time!!!
    Hugs to both

  12. Hello fabulous teacher and students!

    Greetings from Japan. Right now, I think that you all must be sleeping as it is late Wednesday evening. But, here in Japan (GMT plus 9), it is early Thursday morning and I’m eating breakfast. I’m so glad to see your hard work this morning–your enthusiasm for learning something new with your teacher has brightened my day! Keep it up!

  13. Hi teacher!!!!
    How are you??
    This lesson is very fun and interssent i loved this call lesson!!
    I love see the diferent persons different and of other parents we will be having contacts with oneself.
    kisses and hugs
    abigail 6ºE

  14. Dear Teresa and 6E,
    Your sweet message was a BIG surprise. Thank you very much for sending it and for looking up my little country on the map – do you know that very few Europeans know where Slovenia is? Foreigners frequently mix it up with Slovakia, which is a totally different country with a different language and culture. Here’s a link to a video from our country, which one of my students made and posted to YouTube – http://rostilj.blogspot.com/2007/04/world-of-bears.html . His name is Matej and he likes to watch and film bears. We have many bears in our little country, although these have already disappeared from the woods of most other European countries.
    A big hug from Slovenia.
    Sasha
    P.S.
    At 11.18 yesterday I was attending a boring meeting at my school. I guess I was looking through the window and hoping it would soon be over ;-).

  15. Hi Fabulous Teacher and Class 6E,
    Thanks for including me on your map. Yes, I am in Carcavelos (very close by) and there is no time difference (so we can speak together in “real” time). However, I’m an American from Pittsburgh, PA. Can you find Pittsburgh on your map and tell me how many hours difference there is between Portugal and Pittsburgh, PA? Keep up the good work!!!
    Beijinhos,
    Ms. Ramona Dietrich

  16. Dear miss Sasha and Ramona!!
    How are You??
    Thank you for your mensagen and i’m very I feel myself been thankful by having commented in ours very blog. e I can say that the teacher Teresa has care when making each fantastica lesson of call lesson!!!!
    She is the best of the teachers (she is the radical teacher)
    kisses and hugs for Sasha and Ramona
    From: abigail 6ºE

  17. Dear Mary, Sasha and Ramona,
    How nice to get your messages for my students and me!
    Mary, my students also enjoyed CALL lesson 8 that ended with the Google satellite map of night and day all over the world. They had to identify the continents with day and night, and that really gave them an idea of the big differences.
    Sasha, I love the bear video your student made and I’ve added it to the “Follow-up” section in the lesson itself. It’s also interesting to know what you were doing at the time of our class. 🙂
    Ramona, let’s see if one of the students answers your question!
    Hugs all, Teresa

  18. Dear Abigail,
    I’m so happy when my students love the CALL lessons! It’s a way to learn beyond (= para além) our textbook, _English Train_.
    Do you mean that you like to see the different persons in other ‘countries’ (= países) who have contact with us (= connosco)? If that’s what you mean, I agree with you completely.
    Hugs and kisses

  19. Hi Miss Berta and Nina!!!! =)
    How are you?? How are you doing now??
    they forgive for not having soon answered your very obliged menssagem but for your comnents
    little kiss and hugs
    from: Abiagil 6ºE

  20. Hello 6E class! What a super map you’ve created, congratulations! I’m sure you had a lot of fun doing it. When you wrote me, it was 9.45 in Portugal and 5.45 in Brazil, so I was still sleeping. In fact, I usually get up at 6 a.m., so I didn’t sleep much longer! Temperatures are going down now (winter begins in June), so it’s sometimes hard to get up so early! 🙂
    Abraços do Brasil!
    Mônica

  21. Hi Mônica!!!
    How are you??
    Uah!!!!you wake up very early, debtor for your commentary! I imagine with storms must be ai! If in the summer it is a heat in the autumn and in the winter I imagine with either!
    kisses and hugs
    From: Abigail 6ºE

  22. Hi teacher!
    How are you? I’m very happy, because we did the CALL Lesson with our friends for diferent countries.when we leave a message for miss Nina Lyulkun from Ukraine, because near the Ukraine is my countrie Moldova! I like this!
    Hugs and kisses for you Crasy Teacher!
    Daniela 6ºE

  23. Hi, Daniela!
    I’m so glad that you can write messages now! Did your mother see our CALL lesson 9? Did she like it?
    Yes, you’re absolutely right! Teacher Nina Lyulkun is close to Moldova.
    Do you know that she is Russian, but is living and working in the Ukraine?
    We have some fabulous messages from our teacher-friends. They really liked our lesson!!! 🙂
    See you in class on Tuesday!
    Hugs

  24. Hello to the student in comment #25!
    Who are you?! You know that we have a basic rule in our blog: you write your first name and class. Please identify yourself.
    See you tomorrow!

Leave a comment