CALL lesson 1 (23-24 Oct)

Objectives
Students will:
— see an animated intro to CALL lessons to get into the spirit of these lessons once again,
— listen to audio messages to develop their understanding of spoken English,
— record an audio message to develop their speaking skills and interpersonal competences.
 
Activities / Procedures
1. watch the "surprise" and comment orally on it
2. listen twice to different messages from teacher-friends: Isabel, Dafne, Cristina and Dennis Oliver (bottom of the voiceboard) [not available anymore]
3. do a post-listening exercise [not possible anymore]
4. write and then record an audio message with the blog Voice board to "thank" all the teachers [not available anymore]
 
More activities / Follow-up
send comments on the lesson through the blog
 
 

  

* * * * * * * * * *

 

Text of students' messages

 

6C
Hi, teachers!
We like your messages!!! 🙂
We enjoy this CALL lesson, because we watch a movie by our teacher and we do an exercise about your messages.
We love our teacher!!!
Kisses and hugs  6C
 
 

 

6D
Hi, teachers!
Thank you for the messages for us.
We like the first CALL lesson, because we listen to your messages and we see a movie about CALL lessons.Some don't like the quiz.
Bye! See you! 6.D
 
 
6E
Hello, teachers!
How are you?
We like your messages. Thank you!!  🙂
This is our first CALL lesson this year. We see the teacher's first movie and it was very fun, because it is animated. We have a quiz about you and we like it.
Bye! Nice week! Hugs!!! 6E
P.S. – Give good grades!  😉
 
 

  

* * * * * * * * * *

 

Report on CALL lesson 1

 
I always start setting things up at least 15 minutes before class: connecting my laptop to the school LAN (which worked well and fast), the video projector and the speakers. And then trying things out before the kids come in.

The speakers with a USB connection that I bought and those I borrowed from school didn't work. I'm sure I did something wrong. I'll have to double-check at home. And I did.
 
Lessons learned: (1) When problems started, I should have remembered to restart/reboot the computer. That's a 'golden rule' in such situations, because there must have been some internal incompatibility somewhere that would surely have been eliminated, as happened at home. (2) One of my USB connections doesn't work with the speakers. No sound comes out, but the other does. However, both work with the mouse. Go figure! In class I must remember that I can't turn the volume up or down with the laptop button. I must open the Sound window (icon in the Status bar).
 
6C and 6D (23Oct)
Class went on as planned and there was enthusiasm with the ZimmerTwins movie and the messages. Both classes showed interest in making a movie. So I told them to get in groups and create a 6-8 line dialog and next lesson I'll show them "how to" do it and… they can make their own movies!
 
I had to repeat the content of two messages (Daf's and Dennis') sentence by sentence, because they were recorded a bit low for a big classroom with no speaker amplification. Most students were attentive and did well on the post-listening exercise, which we corrected orally in class. I wrote down their scores.
 
We had time to do everything, but the recording was done on top of the bell ringing in both cases. However, the students had time to see their class message show up on the voice board. They were amazed at the speed of the upload!!! Frederico recorded the message for 6C and Marta recorded for 6D.
 
It's a demanding plan and I need to keep a fast pace to complete everything.
 
Sadly, there are always a couple of students who, no matter what we do, seem to be bored by anything and everything, and don't care much. And it showed on their exercise results.
 
6E (24Oct)
Everything went on, as yesterday, with the BIG difference that the speakers worked. 🙂
 
However, when messages are recorded low, as is the case with Daf and Dennis, the sound doesn't amplify enough (it's a big classroom) and I had to repeat them sentence by sentence. Once again, they were impressed by the fact that Dennis is older and was my student. I find this very cute!!!
 
Diogo R. does the first recording. Though all students had repeated the content of the message written on the board (and copied to their exercise book), he was very nervous, so I had to help him a couple of times. I said the P.S., because he forgot. It was suggested by a new student in class and I thought it revealed great sense of humor. I noticed that Daniela, a new student this year recently arrived from Moldova, showed great interest in recording the message. After all her colleagues left for the break, I let her do it. She's very expressive!
 
The lesson was a hit and 6.C sent three messages at lunchtime today. I'm very happy!
 

19 thoughts on “

  1. Hello Teacher!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    How are you?????????????????
    I like so much the CALL Lessons…And I like more when is me to go on the teacher’s computer!! =DDD
    See you at wednesday!!!!!

    Rodrigo, most times called RoD in the computer online games!!! =DDDD 6ºC

  2. Hi, Inês and Raquel!
    I’m blushing (= estou a corar) with so many nice things about the blog and me!! You spoil me (= estragam-me com mimos)!!! 🙂
    It was a fun lesson, wasn’t it?
    Hugs and kisses

  3. Hi, Rod(rigo)!
    Long time no see!! Since Estudo Acompanhado at 12:10!!!! 😉
    I know that you love the CALL lessons and so do I (= me too). And I wish that I could have (= eu adorava poder ter) all students at the computer every lesson!
    See you ‘on’ Wednesday!
    Hugs and kisses

  4. Hi teacher!
    I´m soooooooo excited because
    i have a computer!!
    I´ts very nice and easy to interact
    with my friends and with you, teacher!!
    (of course that my teacher is my friend too…)
    bye!
    kisses and hugs
    Márcia 6ºc

  5. I teacher..how are you …I am doing the homework .. thanks for the CAll lesson it is very cool
    See you on Monday
    Andre N. 6ºD

  6. Hi again, Márcia!
    I just left a comment in the “Have Fun with English!” blog.
    Do you have a new computer?! Is it a PC (table computer) or a laptop (a portable computer)?
    I agree that’s it’s easy and very nice to interact with our friends. “Thank you” for considering me your friend! It’s very nice to hear that. My students are also my friends, as you know. 🙂
    What are you doing this weekend? Anything special or different?
    Hugs

  7. Hi, André!
    It’s very nice to know that you enjoyed the CALL lesson.
    Do you know that we have another CALL lesson on Monday? I hope you will enjoy it too. I will finish preparing it tomorrow.
    Did your DT tell you (= a DT disse-vos) that we have class in Sala TIC next Monday?
    Have a great weekend!
    Hugs

  8. Good morning, Margarida!
    It’s a lovely sunny Saturday morning!
    I’m glad that it’s “your” day to be at the computer and that you left (= deixaste) this message.
    What about leaving a voice message too??!! 🙂
    We have a lot of fun in the CALL lessons, in English and in our blog, don’t we? I also love everything!!! 🙂
    Have a fabulous weekend!
    Hugs

  9. Hi teacher!
    Legend of the Summer of S.Martinho
    In one day stormy went Is Martinho, welded valoroso, mounted in its horse, when it saw a beggar almost naked, tremendous of cold, that it extended to the hand frozen petitioner to it and.
    S. Martinho did not hesitate: the horse stopped, the horse stopped, its hand in the one of the poor person (poisou) affectionately and, after that, with sword cut to the way its layer to militate, giving half to the beggar.
    E, although badly (agasalhado) and to rain torrentially, it was prepared to continue its way, full of happiness. But, suddenly, the storm was gotten rid, the sky was limpid and a sun of Estio flooded the land of light and heat.
    One says that God, so that the act of goodness was not erased of the memory of the men practised for the Saint, every year, in this same time, it ceases per some days the cold time and the sky and the land smile with the blessing of a hot and (miraculoso) sun.
    Bye!
    Filipe 6ºC

Leave a comment